Why Jesus and dry erase markers are awesome…

But as for me, I would seek God, and to God I would commit my cause. Who does great things – and unsearchable, marvelous things without number. Job 5:8-9

I love you, O Lord, my Strength. Psalm 18:1

I’ve been putting some serious miles on my favorite blue sneakers. You see, I’d been considering taking up running again for a while…but then excuses and 5am alarms would usually push those runs off my agenda for the day. But then my boss (who is an amazing long-distance runner) completed his 2nd ultramarathon – the monstrous JFK 50 Miler, and I found some hidden inspiration to start hitting the pavement again. In order to help return my morning runs to habit, I’ve had to continue to fuel that inspiration in as many ways as I can think of. One of them includes dry-erase messages all over my bathroom mirror. It’s covered  right now with motivation, and, of course, the best source of encouragement ever: the Word.

I have a pretty big mirror that pretty much takes up an entire wall in my bathroom so I figured I’d have tons of room if I started writing on the outside edges while leaving the center clear – you know, for grooming, makeup,  broccoli in the teeth and the like. But as time passes, those perimeter messages have begun to close in so that I’ve really only got one small window in the center that’s…well, almost big enough for my face. But how could anybody ignore the uplifting messages with letters sprinkled across their forehead?? You’re bound to get something out of it while peering through the O’s…

Anyway, besides the running encouragement, I’ve written scripture that comforts me, reminds me, and lifts me up as I face the day. Everyone needs to be reminded that they are loved, and of his/her identity in Christ. Everyone needs some extra fuel sometimes as we push through tough days and skip along through the sunny ones. As I have stood in front of that mirror with the Word of God across my face, I have remembered that I am covered. Seeing those words as part of my face makes me remember that He also has written His word on my heart, and I can carry it around with me at all times, safely tucked away so that it is not lost, but never hidden from sight. Since He has said that He is in me and I am in Him, I’ve remembered that the reflection before me is not just of Stacey, but one of the Most High God – in whose image I have been made. Now that’s some good stuff!

So you see, any creeping negativity or lie cannot survive when we think about these things. If there are some things in us that need to go, God will make it clear to us if we will listen closely and look for Him in that reflection. Low self-esteem and weak, unhealthy body image starts to evaporate with the steam on the mirror when we remember that beauty in his sight is far deeper than physical appearance:

…with the incorruptible beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is very precious in the sight of God. 1 Peter 3:6

Hope and love and faith overflow when we allow ourselves to evaporate too, and let his image be reflected instead. I’ve found that even if somehow I get out of the house on my way to work in the morning with some sort of negative or defeating thought that needs to be taken captive, he will ask me throughout the day/week/month, “do you see it yet?” He doesn’t give up and turn away when I’m blinded by the cares of life, but He continues to show me the person reflected in the mirror until my eyes have been opened and my life shifts into His will for me. He will ask me, “do you see it yet?”… until I see things like impatience and lack of faith within myself. He will ask me, “do you see it yet?”…until I remember that I don’t have to do this alone, but that He is with me, even in the dark. He will ask me “do you see it yet?…until I see in myself what HE sees me.

Sometimes we just don’t see it. Sometimes we forget. And when we have those days which feel like we are set back 2 miles with every 1 mile we get ahead, we can turn to Christ for our second wind to push through. With aching calves and feet, and with lungs burning with every freezing cold inhale, we can know that there is always an aid station not far off if we would just keep pressing.  And when we have come to our finish lines, the reward of being taken up to His side far, far outweighs the pain of the race.

For our light affliction, which is but for a moment, is working for us a far more exceeding and eternal weight of glory…2 Corinthians 4:17

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which The Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing. 2 Timothy 4:7-8

3 thoughts on “Why Jesus and dry erase markers are awesome…

  1. I was so blessed by your post today…so thankful God led me to your blog this morning! I may just start using our mirror the same way….but promise me that if my wife gets upset with me, I can tell her it was your idea? 🙂 seriously, very good inspiration! Many blessings to you!

    • I am absolutely humbled. Thank you!! That is exactly the reason I am here – just hoping to make someone’s day a little brighter as they remember our Awesome God. I’m totally willing to accept the blame for the mirror thing…only because I’m out of her arm’s reach! 🙂 Ahh, it’s nothing a little Windex can’t fix. But good luck with that!
      And thank you again.

Leave a Reply

